How to Create Masks of Transparent Elements in Photoshop


Selections are an essential part of any photo editing workflow, but often, selections aren’t as straight-forward as they might seem. In this tutorial we will explain how to make a selection of a glass that includes transparent elements. Let’s get started!


Tutorial Assets

The following assets were used during the production of this tutorial.

Step 1

Selections are an essential part of the image editing process in Photoshop. The process of making a selection is easy but sometimes transparent areas can make the process a bit more complicated. For these types of project, the pen tool is not sufficient. To select areas with a variable level of transparency we need a tool or command which will let us manipulate the brightness information of the color channels of that image. Because we are not only interested in creating a simple cut-out, rather we are more interested in creating a mask, where we can store variable level of brightness information for defining that complex level of transparency. As a channel is just a grayscale image we can use that channel effectively to create a mask, because a mask also uses grayscale (pure white=100% opaque and pure black= 100% transparent) to store transparency information.

Step 2

One of the major advantages of having access to the separate channels in Photoshop is the ability to make selections. You can use individual channels to make different selections in the image. When you want to select a specific item in the image, use the color channels that provide the greatest contrast around the edges of that item. So let’s start the initial planning phase.

Step 3

This is the original image. Though this is a CMYK image, same process will work in case of an RGB image. Only difference will be in the Channels panel. Instead of four color channels and one composite channel, there will be three color channels and one composite channel in the RGB image. The objective of this tutorial is to remove the black portion but to keep the glass, water, bubbles and the reflection below the glass. So we can use it on any other background (Solid color or photo). For this tutorial we will use Apply Image command (Image > Apply Image).

Step 4

The Apply Image command lets you blend one image’s layer and channel with a layer and channel of the active image. But remember the pixel dimensions of the images must match for image names to appear in the Apply Image dialog box. But here we are not using two images. We are blending the black channel copy with the black channel copy itself. But the power of the Apply Image is hiding within the Target section. Here you can specify a blend mode or blending type which you want to use during the Apply Image blend.

Step 5

Open the file in Photoshop. Then in the Channels panel examine the channels for a channel with good contrast. Finding a channel with good contrast is essential for good selection.

Step 6

Here the black channel is showing good contrast between the glass and the background.

Step 7

Duplicate the black channel by dragging it over the ‘create new channel’ icon below the Channels Panel. You can also right click on the black channel and select duplicate channel.

Step 8

Then select the black channel copy and Image > Apply Image.

Step 9

First blend one time with Multiply mode to increase black and in this process convert from the background any area to black which is gray. But reduce the opacity (within the Target section) amount to 50% to create a blend which is not too strong. Otherwise we might remove some white areas, as they are not pure white.

Step 10

The Multiply blend mode looks at the color information in each channel and multiplies the base color by the blend color. The resultant color is always a darker color. Multiplying any color with black produces black. By using the Multiply blend mode we are removing any grey portion from the background.

Step 11

Then blend two times with Overlay blend to increase white. Now we can easily select the white area. Our goal here is to create an effective, fast and acceptable mask with this process. This time use 100% Opacity in the blending area.



Step 12

The Overlay blend mode multiplies or screens the colors, depending on the base color. The base color is not replaced, but mixed with the blend color to reflect the lightness or darkness of the original color. White areas become brighter and black areas become darker. By using the Overlay blend mode we are increasing the strength of the white portion as we want to keep the white portion but mask out the black portion in the final image.

Step 13

You can still tweak the black channel copy by using a brush and paint with white or black color. Paint with white to keep image areas and paint with black to remove or mask out portion. White denotes opaqueness and black denotes transparency within a channel.

Step 14

Load the black channel copy as a selection by either Command/Ctrl-click on the channel or click the first button below the channels panel, which is load channel as a selection.

Step 15

Then go to the Layers panel and duplicate the background layer by dragging it over the create new layer button below the layers panel. You can also right click on the background layer and select Duplicate Layer.

Step 16

Then target the new layer (Background copy) by left clicking on it once. Selection still active, click on mask icon below the Layers panel to create a mask.

Step 17

Now create a new blank layer below and fill it with either red or blue. Now check the quality of the mask. You will find that within the mask there are few grey areas.

Step 18

There are two processes to remove this unwanted grey area. Although first process described below will give you the best output, but still let’s explore both of them.

Step 19

Process 1: Change the blend mode of background copy layer to Lighten in order to remove grey area.

Step 20

Lighten blend mode looks at the color information in each channel and pixels darker than the blend colors are replaced, and pixels lighter than the blend color do not change. As a result dark grey pixels removed.

Step 21

Process 2: Command/Ctrl-click on the background copy mask thumbnail to load the mask as a selection. You can also load the selection from the black channel copy.

Step 22

Then click on the Adjustment layer icon below the Layers panel.

Step 23

This will create a new Levels Adjustment layer.

Step 24

Then in the levels dialogue box first drag the midtone input slider (middle one) and then the highlight input slider (right one) towards left to remove grey area or rather converts grey into white.

Step 25

After applying Lighten blend mode, if you check closely you will find that there are a few broken portions within the white area. You can use the Clone Stamp Tool to fix these areas.

Step 26

That’s it. You can use the same technique to select complex objects with variable level of transparency. Below is the before and after version.

Final Image

This is the final version.
Read More

Efek Foto Kobaran Api

Pada tutorial Photoshop kali ini kita akan mencoba menjadikan coretan menjadi karya yang bagus (kayaknya..hehe..) dengan langkah yang sangat mudah:

1. buat lembar kerja baru (800x600) beri background warna hitam

2. beri coretan dengan menggunakan Brush Tool tutorial photoshop (lihat gambar):
tutorial photoshop

3. kemudian dengan smodge tool tutorial photoshop corat-coret sesuai dengan arah panah (bisa dimodifikasi) lihat gambar:
tutorial photoshop

hasilnya
tutorial photoshop

4. oke agar kobatan apinya lebih panas kita tambahkan lagi coretannya dengan Brush Tool tentunya:
tutorial photoshop

5. Yup hasil akhirnya kira - kira seperti ini:
tutorial photoshop

6. Bisa juga dimodip kayak gini menjadi foto efek
tutorial photoshop
Arofat - On FIRE
Semoga Bermanfaat... ^_^
Read More

AIR HUJAN DI JENDE

Wah sudah lama gak bikin tutorial photoshop. Tutorial ini terinspirasi dari musim hujan yang melanda Indonesia. Setelah hujan turun kulihat Air yang menggenang di jendela dan dengan photoshop kita akan membuat guratan kata-kata indah di atasnya.

Let's Follow (twitter mode:on) hehehe...

Langkah-Langkahnya:

1. Buka Photoshop anda
2. Buka Gambar Percikan Air dan Jendela Kamar dengan Photoshop
Gambar a Percikan Air
air photoshop

Gambar b
Jendela Kamar
air photoshop
semua bahan gambar bisa diDownload Disini:
http://www.4shared.com/file/208885905/5dba306f/text_on_the_window_window.html

3. Mari kita Ke Gambar b dulu, gunakan Rectangular Marquee Tool dan seleksi bagian Pemandangan di jendela
air photoshop
Garis Putus-Putus menunjukkan batas seleksi , Setelah itu tekan CTRL + J untuk menduplikat layer
Hasilnya kita akan mendapatkan Layer 1 (duplicate dari seleksi anda)

4. Ok mari kita ke Gambar a
Buat Gambar a Menjadi hitam putih dengan menekan Shift + CTRL + U
Lalu Atur Levelnya: dengan menekan CTRL + L
Hasilnya:
air photoshop

5. Pindahkan gambar a ke gambar b dengan menggunakan move tool
Setelah itu tekan CTRL + T untuk Free Transform
Bagi yg belum tahu apa itu transform lihat Tutorial Penjelasan dan Penguasaan Teknik Transform
Sesuaikan dengan ukuran jendela ya, setelah pas tekan ENTER
Hasilnya:
air photoshop

6. Pindahkah Layer 1 ke atas Layer 2 , atur ke Mode: Overlay dengan Opacity 75% (sesuaikan)
Gambarnya:
air photoshop

7. Buat Layer Baru dengan menekan CTRL + Shift + N , ubah ke mode Overlay, Foreground warna Hitam
Ok sekarang gunakan basic brush Untuk menggambar / mencoret layaknya coretan jari diwaktu hujan

Tips dan Triknya: ukuran brush coretan pertama lebih besar, baru brush berikutnya lebih kecil agar kelihatan seperti nyata dengan efek rembesan air yg mengalir ke bawah
Yihaaa...
air photoshop
inilah coretan usil di jendela
Demikian Tutorial Air Hujan di Jendela

Oke , Salam Sukses untuk semua pengunjung dan pembaca
Read More

Efek Foto Arsiran Pensil

Langkah - Langkahnya Tutorial:

1. Buka Program Photoshop anda, dan masukkan gambar (CRTL + O kemudian pilih file gambar) yang akan diedit dengan photoshop
Disini saya menggunakan foto artis favorit saya yang main di film Harry Potter siapa lagi klo bukan Emma Watson :) , bisa anda dapatkan wallpapersnya di google service atau save as gambar di bawah ini untuk latihan
image ilmugrafis.com
Emma Watson
(cara save as image: klik kanan gambar, pilih save picture)

2. Duplikat layer sehingga kita mempunyai 2 layer (background dan layer 1)
untuk menduplikat layer tekan CTRL + J , setelah itu tekan CTRL + SHIFT + U untuk membuat warnanya Desaturate (hitam - putih)
jika benar maka anda akan mendapatkan hasil seperti ini:
image ilmugrafis.com


3. Duplicat layer 1 dengan menekan CTRL + J dan kita akan mendapatkan layer baru bernama "layer 1 copy"
Setelah itu tekan CTRL + I untuk meng-Inverse gambar , hasilnya:
image ilmugrafis.com


4. Ubah mode pada Layer 1 copy ke mode : Color Dodge , dan gambar akan menjadi putih tapi janganlah khawatir karena itu langkah yang benar
setelah itu klik Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur
disini saya menggunakan Radius 1.0 , anda bisa berkreasi dengan mencoba setting lainnya
image ilmugrafis.com


5. Duplicat gambar original (background layer) dengan menekan CTRL + J lalu drag and drop Background copy ke bagian layer paling atas
image ilmugrafis.com
Masih di Layer "Background copy" Kemudian tekan CTRL + SHIFT + U untuk membuat warnanya Desaturate (hitam - putih)
berikan effect noise dengan Filter > Noise > Add Noise
image ilmugrafis.com

6. Tambahkan efek Filter > Brush Strokes > Angled Strokes
image ilmugrafis.com
nah langkah terakhir adalah mengubah modenya menjadi Multiply , dan set opacity sesuai selera, disini saya set:
image ilmugrafis.com
hasilnya kurang lebih seperti ini:
image ilmugrafis.com
efek foto arsiran pensil (pencil color)
File Latihan dan Hasil Akhir bisa didownload disini sebagai bahan pembelajaran | Download Source

Gambar lain hasil editan dengan efek ini arsiran pensil ini :
kenapa hasilnya agak beda? karena tergantung juga pencahayaan gambar yang akan diedit, jadi jika telah menguasai tutorial ini maka anda bisa mencoba modifikasi setting/pengaturan yang diberikan sehingga menghasilkan gambar yang menurut anda cukup menarik
image ilmugrafis.com
Susan Coffey dalam arsiran pensil saya :)
Terima kasih, Sampai jumpa lagi di Belajar Edit Foto lainnya, selamat belajar photoshop
Semoga bermanfaat, selamat berkreasi
Read More